How To Have Private Conversations in Google+

June 16, 2014 | Posted by: Meghan Donovan

At most organizations, it's important to make sure that private conversations remain private. Google+ is an ideal tool for groups who want to have social conversations--without broadcasting their thoughts to the world. Today, we're adding an extra layer of security by rolling out restricted communities that only users in your organization can join. Whether it’s designs of your beta product or notes from your team off-site, anything you post will remain restricted to the organization.

 

You can decide if your restricted community will be open to everyone at your company or private, joinable by invitation only. While administrators can set restricted communities as the default for your organization, you can always choose to create communities open to people outside of your domain, so clients, agencies or business partners can join in the discussion.

Once a community is created, you’ll be able to share files from Google Drive as well as videos, events and photos. Community owners can easily change settings, manage membership or invite other team members to join and jump into the conversation.

You can read more about starting and managing a community in the Help Center.